RCB break 16-year trophy drought, beat DC by 8 wickets to clinch maiden WPL 2024 title

Delhi: Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Delhi Capitals in the final of the 2024 Women’s Premier League to break their 16-year-long trophy drought. RCB defeated DC by eight wickets to lift the WPL trophy at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Sunday, March 17.
RCB made easy work of their 114-run chase against DC to lift their maiden WPL title. A wonderful first innings performance from RCB’s spin-attack helped them clinch their first-ever trophy as a franchise.
Sophie Molinuex and Shreyanka Patil broke DC’s back with some spell-binding display of spin bowling in New Delhi. With DC cruising at 64 for no loss, Molinuex came into the attack and turned the game on its head, claiming three wickets in an over.
She ran through DC’s top order, getting rid of the dangerous Shafali Varma, the in-form Jemmimah Rodrigues and the hard-hitting Alice Capsey all in one over. Her spell, aided by Shreyanka’s four-wicket haul, helped RCB bowl out DC for just 113 runs in the final.
Chasing the modest total, Smriti Mandhana, Sophie Devine and Ellyse Perry chipped in with significant contributions to guide RCB to a comfortable victory in New Delhi.
Shreyanka edged Molinuex and Asha Sobhana to win the Purple Cap, ending the tournament with 13 wickets in eight matches. Meanwhile, Perry finished as the Orange Cap winner, beating Meg Lanning to the prize.

Comments are closed.

Breaking News