Manipur CM N Biren Singh Wins, Trends Show BJP Near Majority Mark


Imphal: Manipur’s incumbent chief minister N Biren Singh of the BJP won from the Heingang seat in Imphal East against Congress rival P Sharatchandra by nearly 18,000 votes.

According to last updated data from the Election Commission’s website, the ruling BJP that contested solo in the northeastern state in leading in 21 seats, while the Congress is ahead in three seats.

Congress leader and former CM Okram Ibobi Singh is leading in Thoubal constituency.

Notably, a crucial meeting of the NPP is slated for later today. The winners from the party are likely to meet Conrad Sangma later in the day.

Comments are closed.