West Bengal By-Election: Voting In Three Constituencies Underway, Eyes On Bhabanipur


Kolkata: Polling began at 7 am on Thursday for the by-election to the Bhabanipur seat, where West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is contesting, and two other constituencies.

The by-polls are being held in south Kolkata’s Bhabanipur, besides Jangipur and Samserganj seats in Murshidabad district.

A total 6,97,164 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the three constituencies.

Votes will be counted on October 3.

The all-important Bhabanipur bypoll would see BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal and CPI(M)’s Srijib Biswas locking horns with Trinamool Congress (TMC) chief Mamata Banerjee, who needs to win the election to retain her seat as West Bengal chief minister.

Comments are closed.

Breaking News