Virat Kohli’s 85 In Vain As Australia Beat India By 12 Runs

Sydney: Virat Kohli’s 85 runs cannot take the Indian team to series whitewash as Australia defeated them by 12 runs, at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Tuesday.

India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to field.

Opener Matthew Wade scored 80 runs from 53 balls, to help his side post a target of 187 runs. Australia finished at 186 for five after 20 overs, with Glenn Maxwell (54) also scoring a half-century.

Washington Sundar was the top bowler for India, notching two wickets. Meanwhile, T Natarajan and Shardul Thakur also registered a dismissal each.

India got its wicket losing KL Rahul early. Virat Kohli attempted to anchor India’s chase, scoring 85 runs from 61 balls, but didn’t receive much support from the other Indian batsmen. In the end, the visitors ended with 174 for seven in 20 overs.

Mitchell Swepson took three wickets for Australia, while Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa registered a dismissal each, respectively. The win also puts an end to India’s winning streak in the shortest format of the game. Virat Kohli and his side have won the T20I series, 2-1.

This series will be followed by a four-match Test series, which begins on December 17.