ULB Polls Result: Early Trends Show BJD Ahead In CMC


Cuttack: Leading in one of the major civic bodies of Odisha, the ruling party Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is set to mark its victory in the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC). The conch party is leading in a maximum of wards in Cuttack till noon.

Reportedly, till the ninth round of vote counting in CMC, BJD Mayor candidate Subhash Singh is leading with a total of 37,923 votes followed by Congress Mayor candidate Giribala Behera with 24,706 and BJP Mayor candidate Sritam Das with 10,949.

The vote counting is still underway. The counting of votes for the Odisha Municipal Elections has begun in 58 NAC, 47 municipal councils, and three municipal corporations. There will be no counting of votes in the 6th ward of NAC in Dhamnagar, Bhadrak district.

As per the State Election Commission, 65 per cent of voters turned out to cast their franchise and decide the fate of 6411 candidates.

Comments are closed.