Thunderstorm, rainfall alert for eight Odisha districts


Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) regional centre here issued thunderstorm warning for eight districts of Odisha till 11.45 pm today.

The Met office has sounded alert for Gajapati, Ganjam, Nayagarh, Rayagada, Kandhamal, Bargarh, Sambalpur and Jharsuguda districts.

“Latest Doppler weather radar and satellite imageries indicate that light to moderate thunderstorm with rainfall accompanied with lightning is likely to occur at one or two places over these districts between 7.45 pm and 11.45 pm today,” a statement of the Met office said.

The weatherman cautioned people in these districts to stay indoors and take shelter in buildings and other safe locations as a precautionary measure.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.