Thunderstorm & rainfall alert for 16 Odisha dists


Bhubaneswar: The Regional Meteorological Centre here issued thunderstorm and rainfall alert for 16 Odisha districts between 10.30 AM and 1.30 PM today.

The alert has been sounded for Sundargarh, Deogarh, Sambalpur, Angul, Sonepur, Boudh, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Gajapati, Rayagada, Ganjam, Puri, Kandhamal, Kalahandi, Khurda and Koraput districts.

“Moderate thundershower and lightning with one or two spells of intense rainfall likely to occur at one or two places over these districts between 10.30 AM and 1.30 PM today,” read the latest IMD bulletin.

Moreover, the IMD has predicted heavy downpour in many parts of Odisha in the next 12 hours due to formation of low-pressure over northwest and adjoining west-central Bay of Bengal.

Met has also issued an orange alert for the districts of Ganjam, Puri, Khurda, Jagatsinghpur, Cuttack, Bolangir, Nuapada, Sonepur and Nabarangpur. Similarly, Koraput, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Nayagarh, Kendrapara, Bhadrak, Dhenkanal, Bargarh and Sambalpur districts have been alerted with yellow warnings as the amount of rainfall will be slightly less.

People in these districts are advised to stay indoors and take shelter in buildings and other safe locations as a precautionary measure.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.