Thunderstorm & rainfall alert for 13 Odisha dists


Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) Regional Centre here issued thunderstorm and rainfall alert for 13 districts of Odisha between 9.15 AM to 12.15 PM today.

The alert has been issued for Balasore, Bhadrak, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Jajpur, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Puri, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Khurda, Nayagarh and Ganjam districts.

As per the latest IMD forecast, “Moderate thundershower and lightning with light to moderate rainfall is likely to occur at one or two places over these districts between 9.15 AM to 12.15 PM today.”

Besides, heavy showers are likely to lash parts of Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Bargarh, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Nabarangpur and Koraput districts as the low-pressure area continues to develop over north Bay of Bengal.

People in these districts are advised to stay indoors and take shelter in buildings and other safe locations as a precautionary measure. Besides, the fishermen have also been cautioned against venturing into the sea.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.