Thunderstorm, lightning alert for 21 Odisha districts


Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) regional centre here today issued thunderstorm and lightning warning for 21 districts of Odisha till 11.30 am today.

The Met office has sounded alert for Ganjam, Balasore, Bhadrak, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Jajpur, Puri, Khurda, Cuttack, Nayagarh, Deogarh, Angul, Jagatsinghpur, Kandhamal, Boudh, Sonepur, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda, Sundergarh and Kendrapara district

“Latest Doppler weather radar and satellite imageries indicate that thunderstorm accompanied with lightning and moderate rainfall is likely to occur over these districts till 11.30 pm today,” a statement of the Met office said.

The weatherman cautioned people in these districts to stay indoors and take shelter in buildings and other safe locations as a precautionary measure.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.