Thunderstorm Alert Issued To 19 Odisha Dists


Bhubaneswar: The India Meteorological Department’s (IMD) regional centre on Thursday issued thunderstorm and lightning with moderate rainfall alert in 19 districts of the State for the next 24 hours.

The IMD has also issued a yellow warning for these districts.

Isolated thunderstorms and lightning are very likely to occur in several districts of North Coastal, North Interior and South Interior region of Odisha, said the IMD.

The alert has been sounded for the districts of Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Cuttack, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Bargarh, Sambalpur, Deogarh, Angul, Dhenkanal, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Sonepur, Boudh, Nuapada, Bolangir, Kalahandi and Kandhamal.

People in these districts have been advised to stay indoors and take shelter in buildings during lightning as a precautionary measure.

Comments are closed.