Three Odisha bound trains diverted post Kaifiyat Express derailment


Bhubaneswar: At least three Odisha bound trains, including Rajdhani Express running from New Delhi, have been diverted following the derailment of the Azamgarh-Delhi Kaifiyat Express in Auraiya district of Uttar Pradesh toady.

As per a release of East Coast Railways, New Delhi-Bhubaneswar Rajdhani Express leaving New Delhi on August 22 will run via Kanpur-Lucknow-Moradabad-Ghaziabad,

Similarly, New Delhi – Puri Purusottam Express, which left Delhi on August 22, will reach its destination via Agra-Jhansi-Kanpur and Nandan Kanan Express, scheduled to depart from New Delhi on August 23, will run via Palwal-Jhansi-Kanpur, it said.

The engine and nine coaches of Kaifiyat Express, travelling from Azamgarh to New Delhi, derailed near Auraiyya district of Uttar Pradesh at around 2. 50 am on Wednesday after its engine reportedly collided with a dumper. As many as 70 people are reported to have been injured.

This is the second rail accident since last Saturday when Utkal Express had derailed in Muzaffarnagar distict of UP, killing 22 people and injuring 156.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.