Third phase of polling for 17 seats in Jharkhand begins


Ranchi: Voting for the third of the five-phase polling in 17 assembly constituencies of Jharkhand began on Thursday.

The voting began at 7 am in all the 17 constituencies, amidst a tight security arrangement.

While polling at Ranchi, Hatia, Kanke, Barkatha and Ramgarh seats will end at 5 pm, voters in rest of the constituencies can exercise their franchise till 3 pm.

The fate of 309 candidates, including 32 women nominees, will be decided in the third leg of the elections.

The assembly elections to the 81-member House began on November 30 and will end on December 20.

Out of the total 7,016 polling stations set up for the third-phase, 1,008 are marked as critical’ and 543 sensitive’ in Naxal-affected areas.

A total of 1,119 polling stations are critical’ and 2,672 polling stations are sensitive’ in non-Naxal affected areas.

There are 13,504 ballot units, 8,772 controlling units and 9,123 VVPAT in the 17 seats, with double ballot units set up in nine of the constituencies as there are sixteen or more candidates in the fray.

A total of 2,014 polling stations have webcasting facilities, 329 model polling stations and 44 polling stations will be conducted by women polling personnel.

The 17 constituencies, including two reserved for SC candidates and one ST candidate, are spread over eight districts.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.