Sultan Azlan Shah Cup: India to face Japan in opening match today


Malaysia: Indian Men’s Hockey team will be up against 18th Asian Games gold medallist Japan in the opening match of 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup at Ipoh in Malaysia on Saturday.

India has won the title five times: 1985, 1991, 1995, 2009 and shared the title with South Korea in 2010.

There will be a total of 18 matches in the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah tournament and will conclude on March 30.

Malaysia, Canada, Poland, Japan and Korea are the other teams participating in the tournament this year.

Australia, which clinched last year’s Sultan Azlan Shah Cup title, will not be playing in this edition of the tournament. Similarly, Argentina and England will not be part of the tournament because of the ongoing 2019 Men’s FIH Pro League.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.