Southco starts power disconnection drive in 8 Odisha dists


Bhubaneswar: The Southco on Sunday launched the power disconnection drive of nearly 22 lakh consumers in eight districts across the state.

The power utility company has arrears of nearly Rs 1,357 crore in eight southern districts including Ganjam, Gajapati, Kandhamal, Boudh, Rayagada, Koraput, Malkangiri and Nabarangapur districts.

Earlier, the authorities had urged the consumers to clear their arrears by February 15 to avoid disconnection of power supply.

After CESU, two more power utilities – Nesco and Southco – had decided to launch a crackdown against their defaulting consumers.

CESU had collected Rs 61.4 crore and disconnected power supply to 18,370 consumers.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.