Seven Odisha cities in grip of pollution, air quality monitoring on: Forest Minister

Bhubaneswar: Seven cities in Odisha are classified as non-attainment cities due to rising air pollution level.  These are Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Balasore, Angul, Talcher, Rourkela & Kalinganagar.

Minister of Forest and Environment, Bikram Keshari Arukh told the Assembly on Tuesday that these above-mentioned cities have been dubbed as non-attainment cities and added that the government has taken initiatives to prepare a plan of action to curb the rising pollution.

Replying to the question of Prashant Behera, the Minister said afforestation projects are being implemented in these cities and added that air quality monitoring is being done to ward off environmental pollution.