Senior Women National Hockey Championship: Results From Day 6


Hisar (Haryana): The Quarter Final line-ups of the 9th Senior Women National Hockey Championship 2019 (A Division) were decided here on Wednesday as action continued into the sixth day of the competition.

It was Defending Champions Railway Sports Promotion Board, Hockey Karnataka, Hockey Madhya Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, Hockey Maharashtra, Hockey Haryana, Hockey Jharkhand and Hockey Punjab, progressed to the Quarter Finals of the competition as they finished in the top two positions in the respective Pools.

In the matches held today, it was a rampant Railway Sports Promotion Board who started the day off with a 22-0 victory over Hockey Coorg in Pool A. Indian International Navneet Kaur starred in the match for the Defending Champions as she scored six goals (3′, 36′, 47′, 48′, 54′, 55′), while fellow striker Vandana Katariya (7′, 23′, 33′, 48′), Neha (9′, 18′, 40′), Gurjit Kaur (24′, 26′), Priyanka Wankhede (27′, 59′), Navjot Kaur (37′, 50′), Captain Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam (39′), Lily Chanu (43′), Preeti Dubey (57′) also registered their names on the score-sheet to see their team finish top of Pool A with 12 points.

In the other Pool A match, it was Hockey Karnataka who defeated Hockey Rajasthan by a margin of 3-0 to secure the second spot. The win saw Hockey Karnataka finish with a tally of nine points as Captain Leelavathy M J Mallamada (29′, 48′) and Soumyashree Napanda (7′) scored the goals for them.

In Pool B, it was Hockey Madhya Pradesh who finished top as they beat Hockey Bhopal 4-1 to get to 10 points from their four matches. Goals in the match for Hockey Madhya Pradesh were scored by Jyoti Pal (8′, 24′, 59′) and Narender Kaur (18′) while Hockey Bhopal’s Captain, Shivani Bisht (29′) scored the only goal for her team.

The other Pool B encounter saw Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy beat Chhattisgarh Hockey by an emphatic margin of 9-1 to finish second in the Pool with ten points as well. Goals for Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy were scored by Rakhi Prajapati (5′, 58′), Savita (8′, 44′), Sadhna Sengar (12′, 34′), Kanchan Nidhi Kerketta (25′), Navdeep Kaur (39′) and Prashu Singh Parihar (52′), while Laxmi Chandel (22′) scored Chhattisgarh Hockey’s only goal.

In Pool C, it was Hockey Maharashtra who progressed to the Quarter Finals as they top-placed team as they beat Hockey HIM 4-1 in their last Pool match. Goals for Hockey Maharashtra were contributed by H Lalruatfeli (41′, 60′), Pinky Devi Thokchom (38′) and Renuka Yadav (43′), while Sarita (28′) scored Hockey HIM’s only goal of the match.

The other Pool C match saw Hockey Haryana beat Central Reserve Police Force 4-1 to secure the second spot in the Pool, and advance to the Quarter Finals. Goals in Hockey Haryana’s victory were scored by Sonika (4′), Manpreet Kaur (23′), Ritu (34′) and Devika Sen (41′), while Siddhi Singh (35′) scored for Central Reserve Police Force.

Pool D was topped by Hockey Jharkhand as they beat Kerala Hockey 4-1 in their match. Goals for Hockey Jharkhand were scored by Captain Punita Minj (19′), Poonam Madhuri Tete (25′), Birajini Ekka (36′) and Pinki Ekka (48′), while Kerala Hockey’s only goal came in the 22nd minute through Kochutyhresiya.

Hockey Punjab also finished the Pool stage with a tally of nine points as they won their three matches, and will advance to the Quarter Finals.

All matches will take place on Friday, 15th February 2019:

  • 2nd Quarter Final – 0900hrs IST – Hockey Jharkhand v Hockey Haryana
  • 3rd Quarter Final – 1100hrs IST –  Hockey Madhya Pradesh v Hockey Karnataka
  • 1st Quarter Final – 1300hrs IST – Railway Sports Promotion Board v Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy
  • 4th Quarter Final – 1500hrs IST – Hockey Maharashtra v Hockey Punjab

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.