Senior Men National Hockey: Six Teams Enter Quarter-Finals


Gwalior (Madhya Pradesh): Day Six at the 9th Hockey India Senior Men National Hockey Championship 2019 (A Division) saw six teams register a victory.

The Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd, Punjab & Sind Bank, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board, Air India Sports Promotion Board, Comptroller & Auditor General Of India and Hockey Karnataka registered victories to advance in the tournament.

Hockey Punjab and The Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd make the quarterfinals from Pool A while Petroleum Sports Promotion Board and Hockey Haryana qualify from Pool B. Railway Sports Promotion Board and Punjab & Sind Bank qualify from Pool C and Air India Sports Promotion Board and Hockey Karnataka make the quarterfinals cut from Pool D.

Services Sports Control Board overcame a 1-3 setback to hold the Defending Champions Hockey Punjab 3-3 in a thrilling Pool A match. India striker Ramandeep Singh, making a comeback in competitive hockey after a long injury lay-off, scored the first goal for Hockey Punjab in the 10th minute but the 1-0 lead was equalised in the 24th minute through Biraj Ekka of Services Sports Control Board. Though Hockey Punjab struck two crucial goals in the 29th and 34th minute through Rupinder Pal Singh and Akashdeep Singh to take a 3-1 lead, Biraj Ekka and Rajant scored in the 38th and 57th minute to help their team split points and ensure a place in the quarterfinals.

In a Pool C match, Railways Sports Promotion Board drew with Punjab National Bank 3-3. Punjab National Bank too made a late surge to overcome a 1-3 deficit to hold the Railway Sports Promotion Board who had taken an early 1-0 lead through Ajmeer Singh (2′) followed by goals from Dilpreet Singh (16′, 44′). It was Gurjinder Singh’s splendid double in the 4th and 57th minutes and Sanjay’s 48th-minute goal that helped them draw the match.

The Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd secured a 3-1 win against Hockey Chandigarh in a Pool A match. After Skipper Preetinder Singh’s goal in the 23rd minute gave Hockey Chandigarh a 1-0 lead, Armaan Qureshi’s double in the 25th and 38th minute followed by Shan Keisham’s goal in the 50th minute helped The Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd win the match.

In another Pool C match, Punjab & Sind Bank beat Hockey Gangpur-Odisha 3-2. Jaskaran Singh (8′), Prabhdeep Singh (12′) and Varinder Singh (32′) scored for the winners while Suman Kujur (19′) and Joseph Toppo (45′) scored for Hockey Gangpur-Odisha.

Petroleum Sports Promotion Board dominated in their Pool C match against Central Reserve Police Force as they beat them 10-2. Harmanpreet Singh (7′, 26′, 53′), Simranjeet Singh (18′), Mandeep Singh (25′, 50′), Talwinder Singh (44′), Varun Kumar (47′), Gurjinder Singh (55′), Sumit Kumar (55′) scored for the winners. For Central Sports Promotion Board, Jayant Tirkey (49′) and Saroj Ekka (60′) were the goal scorers.

Air India Sports Promotion Board beat Canara Bank 5-3 in a Pool D match. After getting off to a good start Canara Bank fumbled the 2-0 lead gained through goals by Nikkin Thimmaiah (5′, 7′). Joginder Singh (15′), Mohd Faraz (22′), Abharan Sudev (23′) of Air India Sports Promotion Board scored to lead 3-2. Though Canara Bank equalised through KS Appanna (28′), Joga Singh (39′) and Arujun Sharma (41′) scored to win the match for Air India Sports Promotion Board.

Comptroller & Auditor General Of India convincingly beat Hockey Bhopal 8-0 in their Pool B match. Imran Khan (17′, 35′, 48′, 57′) impressed with four goals while Bundela SS (1′), Manish Yadav (16′), Deepak Singh (20′) and Nithin Thimmaiah (53′) scored a goal each to help their team win big.

In another crucial Pool D match, Hockey Karnataka beat Hockey Odisha 3-2. Former India drag-flicker VR Raghunath (25′, 31′) struck a double while Skipper SV Sunil (56′) scored to ensure Hockey Karnataka overcame a 0-2 setback to win 3-2 and make it to the quarterfinals.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.