Ranendra Pratap Swain appointed Pro-Tem Speaker; New MLAs to take oath on June 18, 19

Odisha Assembly Speaker Election on June 20.

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJD leader & Athagarh MLA Ranendra Pratap Swain has been appointed as the Pro-tem speaker, who will take oath on Friday. The Odisha Assembly Speaker Election will be held on June 20.

Swain, one of the senior-most members of the State Assembly, will administer the oath of office and secretary to all the newly-elected members of the Odisha Legislative Assembly, on June 18 and 19.

The Pro-tem Speaker, also known as the temporary speaker, oversees the initial meeting following an election. Typically, the most senior member of the Assembly is unanimously chosen by its members to fulfil the role until a permanent Speaker is selected. Once the new Speaker is elected, the position of Pro-tem speaker ceases to exist.

The primary responsibility of the Pro-tem speaker is to officiate the swearing-in of new members of the State Assembly. Additionally, they facilitate the election of the new Speaker and oversee the floor test.

Comments are closed.

Breaking News