Rajya Sabha members can speak in 22 scheduled languages


New Delhi: Rajya Sabha MPs can speak any of the 22 Indian languages in the House, listed in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution, from this monsoon session beginning on July 18.

Besides, the Secretariat arranging simultaneous interpretation for five more languages: Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani, Santhali and Sindhi.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu formally inducted the interpreters for these languages on Tuesday.

Of the 22 languages, the Rajya Sabha already has simultaneous interpretation for Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

The interpreters of the Lok Sabha are being deployed for Bodo, Maithili, Manipuri, Marathi and Nepali.

“I have always felt that mother tongue is the natural medium to convey our feelings and thoughts without any retention. Members must not feel handicapped or inferior to others due to language constraints,” Vice-President and Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu said.

That was why I was keen on simultaneous interpretation for all 22 scheduled languages. I am glad this is becoming a reality from the coming Monsoon Session, he added.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.