Rainfall, lightning alert for 21 Odisha districts


Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) regional centre here today issued thunderstorm and lightning warning for 21 districts of Odisha till 8 pm today.

The Met office has sounded alert for Sambalpur, Deogarh, Jharsuguada, Sundargarh, Bargarh, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Khurda including Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Puri, Nayagarh, Kandhamal, Nabarangpur, Ganjam, Gajapati, Rayagada and Koraput districts.

“Latest doppler weather radar and satellite imageries indicate that thunderstorm accompanied with lightning and moderate rainfall is likely to occur at one or two places over these districts between 4 pm and 8 pm today,” a statement of the Met office said.

The weatherman cautioned people in these districts to stay indoors and take shelter in buildings and other safe locations as a precautionary measure.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.