Railway Traction Power Transmission Projects Put On Fast Track


Bhubaneswar: Railway traction power transmission projects have been put on fast track with Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra reviewing the progress and resolving the ground level issues in a high-level meeting held today on digital mode from Lok Seva Bhawan. Taking a project wise review, Mohapatra set timelines for completion of each project and asked Odisha Power Transmission Corporation (OPTCL) to adhere to the time line.

Further, Mohapatra asked the Principal Secretary Energy to take a month wise review of the work-schedule in coordination with concerned departments for expeditious implementation. Railways were asked to complete construction of their power conversion sub-stations in pace with power supply projects of the OPTCL. It may be pertinent here to mention that OPTCL supplies 132 Kv or 220 Kv power to railway feeders from where the railways take power as per requirement of the trains through power conversion sub-stations. MCL was requested to expedite the issue of no objection certificates for Belpahar transmission tower. 

Presenting details of the projects, Principal Secretary Energy N.B. Dhal said, “presently around 27 railway traction transmission projects have been assigned to OPTCL out of which 07 projects have been completed within the scheduled time with investment of around Rs.59 cr. Other 17 projects estimated around Rs.247 cr are in different phases of implementation and 03 are in process of tendering.  Out of 17 ongoing projects, 08 have been prioritized as critical ones by the railways for which special focus have been laid on early completion of the projects”.  

Chairman OPTCL Dr Sourabh Garg appraised, “as of now construction of OPTCL railway transmission sub-stations have been completed  at Nuapada, Kamakshya Nagar, Kendrapara, Kechobahal, Deogaon, Lanjigarh and Boina road stations. Out of this, railways have started power drawal from 5 sub-stations. Commissioning of power supply to   railway lines like Titilagarh-Sambalpur-Jharsuguda, Singapur-Damanjodi, Lanjigarh-Junagarh, Nuapada-Gunupur, Tatanagar-Badampahar, Khurdha-Nuagao and Rupsa-Bangiriposi have been expedited.

Other important RTSS projects reviewed in the meeting included the project at Maneswar, Bimilagarh, Belpahar, Malatipatapur, Sukinda Road, Dhanmandal, Gurposh, Bamara, Dhutra, Charbatia, Siju and Mancheswar. OPTCL was directed to complete these projects in the current working season within 2 to 3 months.

Secretary IT and Commissioner Railway Coordination Manoj Kumar Mishra, Project Director OPTCL Rajiv Lochan Panda, Principal Chief Engineer Railways Basudeb Panda along with senior officers of Railways, OPTCL and concerned departments participated in the discussions.

Comments are closed.