PM Modi Greets People On Hindi Diwas

0 7

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter and greeted the nation on the occasion of ‘Hindi Diwas’ on Tuesday.

In a tweet, the Prime Minister said:



India celebrates Hindi Diwas, also known as Hindi Day, on September 14 every year to commemorate the adoption of Hindi in the Devanagari script as one of the official languages of the nation.

There are 22 scheduled languages in India and among them, one is Hindi. Mainly spoken in North India, Hindi is also used for communication in other parts of the country

Many state governments carry out their function in this language. They release official notifications in Hindi. Apart from India, Hindi is spoken in Fiji, Mauritius, Trindad and Tobago.

Written in Devanagari script, Hindi was adopted as an official language by the Constituent Assembly of India in 1949. It is one of the two official languages used by the Union government. The other one is English.

People like Hazari Prasad Dwivedi, Kaka Kalelkar, Maithili Sharan Gupt, Seth Govind Das and Beohar Rajendra Simha put in effort to get Hindi the status of official language. Besides, Hindi got the official language status on the 50th birth anniversary of Simha on September 14, 1949. Hindi Diwas was first marked in 1953.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

twelve + two =