Panchayat Polls: SEC Announces Results For 600 ZP Zones


Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has made a landslide victory in 542 Zilla Parishad (ZP) zones among 600 seats, the State Election Commission (SEC) informed on Monday.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has acquired 31 seats while Congress won 30 seats. On the other hand, Independent candidates and nominees of other parties managed to win six seats.

Amid the third day of vote counting of Odisha panchayat polls, Out of the 600 zones, the BJD has emerged victorious in 542 zones.

The counting of votes will continue for three days – February 26, 27 and 28. The SEC said that the centralised counting of votes is taking place for the polls.

Around 70 per cent of the 41.88 lakh electorate exercised their franchise in the fifth phase of the three-tier panchayat election in Odisha.

Comments are closed.