Padampur Bypoll Result: Counting of votes begins


Bargarh: Counting for the bypoll to Padampur Assembly constituency in Odisha’s Bargarh district started today at 8 am. There will be 23 rounds of counting for the by-election.

Odisha’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sushil Kumar Lohani had earlier informed that postal ballots would be counted first, following that, votes polled in 319 booths would be counted in 14 tables in each round.

By-election to Padampur was necessitated by the demise of BJD MLA Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha on October 3. The party has filed the late lawmaker’s daughter from the seat. Voting for the bye-election will be held on December 5.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday took feedback from BJD leaders who managed the electioneering in the Padampur bypoll, the results of which will be out on Thursday.

BJP candidate Pradip Purohit exuded confidence in winning the by-election with a comfortable margin.

BJD nominee Barsha Singh Bariha also said she was confident of a positive outcome.

Congress candidate Satya Bhusan Sahu, however, said that the Congress will retain its vote share of the 2019 elections.

Comments are closed.