Odisha Rajya Sabha by-polls: BJD, BJP candidates file nomination


Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidates for Rajya Sabha by-polls – Amar Patnaik and Sasmit Patra – filed their nominations at the State Assembly here today.

The two candidates for the by-polls to three Rajya Sabha seats of Odisha filed their nomination papers before the concerned Returning Officer in the presence of BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha.

Meanwhile, former bureaucrat Ashwini Baishnab, who has been nominated by BJP for the Rajya Sabha by-polls, also filed his nominations in the presence of BJP MLAs and BJD ministers as the conch party have extended support to his candidature.

The three Rajya Sabha seats, which was held by BJD’s Achyutananda Samanta, Pratap Keshari Deb and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, were left vacant as they won from Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat, Aul and Khandapada Assembly segments in 2019 polls respectively.

While Amar Patnaik has filed nomination for the vacant seat of Achyuta Samanta, Sasmit Patra has been nominated for Pratap Keshari Deb’s Rajya Sabha seat.

Samanta and Patnaik’s term in the Upper House was to end in April 2024. However, Deb’s term in the Rajya Sabha was till July 2022 because of which Sasmit Patra will have only three years in Rajya Sabha.

Polling will be held on July 5 between 9 am and 4 pm. Counting of votes will take place at 5 pm on the very day.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.