Odisha Phase III polls: 61% voter turnout till 5 pm


Bhubaneswar: Around 61 per cent voter turnout has been recorded till 5 pm in third phase polls in Odisha on Tuesday, informed the Chief Electoral Officer, Odisha.

Polling in two booths have been adjourned following glitches in the pairing of EVMs and VVPAT machines and recommendations have been sent to Election Commission for repolling, the CEO said.

According to the CEO, polling in booth No 183 under Deogarh Assembly constituency and booth No 196 in Baramba Jhajia in Cuttack district have been cancelled.

Polling was held in six Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly constituencies in 10,464 polling booths across the state in the third phase of the four-phased LS and Assembly elections today.

The polling started at 7 am in almost all the booths across the state. However, there was a delay in a few polling booths due to technical issues in EVMs.

Earlier, around 34 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 1 pm, 18 per cent till 11 am and 6 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the first two hours (9 am) of the third phase election.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.