Odisha Excellence Award Conferred To 17 Personalities, 3 Organisations


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Governor Prof. Ganeshi Lal conferred the 2nd edition of prestigious Odisha Excellence Award (OEA) here this morning. A total of 20 awards were given; 17 personalities and 3 organisations.

Addressing a great gathering of luminaries and intellectuals of the state honorable Governor shared his experience about Odia people and the tribal groups in particular. As the down to earth constitutional head of the state is visiting frequently to tribal-rich districts, he expressed pleasure describing the life and attitude of the villagers. He said that the people of Odisha are happy and satisfied with whatever they have. Governor said: “When I meet people I used to ask whether they need to tell me or any help from me. They say NO. Especially the tribal people never ask for any support or any kind of help from the government. This land is full of satisfaction, so the people. All excellent souls reside in this land of Jagannath. When Lord Jagannath is with them, why should they seek any support from a man like me”.

Well-known poet and scholar Padma Vibhushan Dr Sitakant Mahapatra also graced the occasion presided over by noted author & journalist Subhransu Panda, director, Odia Media.

The list of awardees includes Padma Shri Prafulla Kar for Music, Padma Shri Sudarshan Sahoo for Art, Padma Shri Ileana Citaristi for Dance, Sri Jagadananda for Social Service, Sri Haraprasad Das for Literature, Sri Ajit Das for Theatre, Smt Mahasweta Ray for Cinema, Sri Arun Bothra for Public Service, Smt Anuradha Biswala for Sports, Sri Sandeep Sahu for Journalism, Sri Jagadish Prasad Naik for Entrepreneurship, Sri Arun Kumar Sabat for Motivation, Dr Akshay Kumar Rout for Health, Sri Priyadarshi Pany for Leadership, Smt Sabita Patnaik for Education, Sri Prashant Sahu for Information Technology and Sri Trinath Lenka for Wealth Management.

Likewise, three Institutions/organisations have been nominated for this much-awaited State Level Award. NALCO for Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), Vajirao IAS Academy for Coaching and South Orissa Voluntary Action (SOVA) for Community Development also received Odisha Excellence Award 2019.

The Odisha Excellence Award ceremony is an annual event to recognize real heroes and achievers of the state and felicitate them for their extraordinary excellence and contribution in different fields of art, sports, culture, entertainment, education, development and social service.

Organised by leading media and publishing house Odia Media the award event was held at Odissi Research Centre auditorium. Odia Media organises few other annual national and state-level festivals like Koraput Literary Festival, Bhubaneswar Literary Festival, Bhasha Festival, Odisha Youth Award, Odisha Education Award, Odisha Media Conclave and PEN IN BOOKS Young Author Award etc.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.