Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik Rehabilitates 18 Tribal Leaders In SDC


Bhubaneswar: After a gap of two years, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Tuesday appointed 18 tribal leaders of BJD as chairman and vice-chairman of Special Development Council (SDC) in nine districts.

The newly appointed chairpersons will work for a period of two years.

The SC/ST Development department on Tuesday issued a notification mentioning the names of the newly appointed chairmen and vice-chairmen.

The State government had constituted the SDC in nine tribal dominated districts. The districts are-Mayurbhanj, Malkangiri, Keonjhar, Koraput, Nabarangpur, Rayagada, Gajapati, Kandhamala and Sundergarh. Patnaik had rehabilitated his party leaders and workers in the SDC.

Even though their tenure had ended two years ago, no one had been appointed for the post since then.

Debasis Marandi and Kamala Tiria have been appointed as SDC chairperson and vice-chairman respectively in Mayurbhanj district. Similalry, Laxmi Naik has been posted as chairperson Keonjhar SDC while Narayan Purti is her deputy.

Adama Raba and Raila Naik became the chairmana nd vice-chairman in Malkangiri. In Koraput, Chandrasekhar Majhi get the post of chairman and Laxmi Hantala as vice chairman.

The CM appointed Upendra Gond as SDC chief and Bhanumati Pujari as his deputy. Ansuya  Majhi and Banamali Kadraka have been appointed in Rayagada district while Mariyam Raito and Dhaneswar Bhuyan got the chairman and vice chairman posts respectively in Gajapati district.

In Kandhamal, Rodan Mallik became the head of the Council while Nalini Kahnar get the post of vice chairman.

Binay Tappo has been working as SDC cjhairman in Sundergarh since November 6, 2021. Susila Tapno was appointed the vice chairman in the district as the post remained vacant.

Comments are closed.