Odisha CM Congratulates Indian Women’s Hockey Team For Historic Quarterfinal Win


Bhubaneswar: Elated with the victory of the Indian women’s hockey team in the quarter-finals of the Olympics games, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated the entire team with tagline, “Glory awaits!”.

He took to his social media account and wrote: “Congratulate Indian Women’s Hockey Team on registering a thumping victory in the quarter-final against Australia at Tokyo 2020. May the team continue its winning streak & bring glory to the country. Wish the team all the best.”

The Indian women hockey team made history on Monday, the 10th day of Tokyo Olympics as they beat Australia 1-0 in the quarterfinals. With that, they sealed their spot in the semifinals for the first time in India’s Olympic history.

Notably, Odisha has successfully hosted the Hockey Men’s World Cup in 2018 and hosted the FIH Men’s Series Finals in 2019. Odisha has previously hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, is the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2023.


Comments are closed.