Odisha Cabinet Approves 33 Important Proposals

40 Lift Irrigation Schemes approved for different districts


Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Cabinet meeting held under the Chairmanship of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in the Cabinet Room today took 33 important decisions relating to the departments of Water Resources, Law, Electronic and IT, Sports and Youth Services, Tourism, Industry, Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare, Health and Family Welfare, Cooperation, Revenue and Disaster Management, Excise, Home, Steel and Mines, and Works.

Informing people about the Cabinet decisions, Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra said that major decisions included approval of the financial bids for the construction of 40 Lift Irrigation Schemes with intake points on different rivers in the districts of Keonjhar,  Kalahandi, Bolangir, Bargarh, Gajpati, Jajpur, Kendrapara,  Angul and Cuttack. Similarly, the Cabinet also approved the financial bids for the execution of a pressurised underground pipeline ( UGPL)   irrigation network system for the left command of the lower Suktel irrigation project with the distribution network.

Mahapatra added that other important decisions included sanction of lease of 5 acres of Government land free of premium for the establishment of Central Research Institute in Homeopathy (CIRH), 50 acres of land in favour of Rajendra University for their infra development, and 3.125 acres of land for the establishment of National Centre for Disease Control ( NCDC).

Proposal for 15% reservation of seats in Govt Physical Education Colleges for the students staying in Govt sports hostels along with revised funding for the State Level Sports Infrastructure Development scheme also received Cabinet nod.

Long term linkage policy for limestone to the eligible State based end-user industries, widening of Sonepur – Binika – Rampur – Dungurupali road in Subarnapur district, construction of 195 Type-VI and 105 Type-VII quarters at MLA colony on a Turnkey basis, the appointment of Members of Odisha Public Service Commission, restructuring of tourism service cadre, Odisha cooperative service cadre, formulation of cadre rule for newly created Odisha cooperative audit service cadre, District Police Ministerial Services Rules, amendment of Odisha Civil service Recruitment Rules,  amendment of Odisha legal meteorology service rules, amendment of Odisha Judicial Service Rules, Odisha district and Sub-Ordinate Courts’ non-judicial staff services and Group-D employees rules were also approved in the Cabinet.

Additional Chief Secretary Water Resources Smt Anu Garg joined Chief Secretary in the press briefing.

Comments are closed.