North Orissa University Renamed After Maharaja Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Government on Wednesday renamed the North Orissa University in Baripada after Maharaja Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo, erstwhile ruler of princely state of Mayurbhanj.

A notification to this effect issued by the Higher Education department in Odisha Gazette mentioned: “In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (c) of sub-section (1) of section-32 of the Odisha Universities Act, 1989 (Odisha Act 5 of 1989), the State government has changed the name of North Orissa University as Maharaja Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo university.”

The name of the university has been changed with effect from the date of publication of the notification in the Odisha Gazette.