New Era In Politics: Naveen Steps Into 21 Years Of Rule, Still No 1 CM

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who rules the hearts of millions of Odias, has reached 21 years of serving the people with love and dedication.

Patnaik emerged as the new sun in Odisha political firmament in March 2000 and donned the mantle as Chief Minister of Odisha. He completes 21 years today and enjoys the rare distinction of being the No 1 CM in the country.

Naveen is the man who shines with a towering personality and unblemished reputation that is being regarded as his assets over the years. His image has remained untarnished in the present-day quagmire of politics. The people of Odisha have voted him for the fifth term till 2024.

If one has to analyse Naveen’s leadership then in the top ten slot Tripura’s Manik government, Punjab’s Prakash Singh Badal, Tamil Nadu’s M Karunanidhi and Himachal Pradesh’s Jashobant Singh Parmar. All the above-mentioned persons are not in the Chief Minister’s position presently.

The Manik government is not in power so also Prakash Singh Badal of Punjab. Both Karunanidhi and Parmar are no more.

Odisha’s CM Naveen Patnaik is the political personality of India who hold the record of taking the reigns of power for the fifth consecutive term and still retains the power to serve the people of Odisha for several more years. Naveen attracts votes in his name as he possesses stainless character and an unblemished reputation.

Naveen entered the political arena dramatically after the demise of his father the legendary Biju Patnaik. Politics was never his cup of tea and he known more as a writer than any other self. He has never looked back after donning the mantle as Chief Minister of Odisha. Over the years, Naveen has proved that he is an astute politician and never tasted defeat. In March 5, 2000 he became the Chief Minister of Odisha after being elected as an MLA from Hinjli assembly seat.

He was elected as the MP from Aska after Biju Patnaik and formed BJD to become the minister at the coalition ministry at Centre. Naveen has worked as the Union Minister for Coal, Steel and Mines in the Atal Bihari Vajapayee government.

If one has to analyse the political record of the country then Sikkim’s CM Pawan Kumar Chamling has ruled the state for 24 years and 165 days. He was in power from December 12, 1994 to May 26, 2019. Jyoti Basu was the Chief Minister of West Bengal from June 21, 1977 to November 5 for 23 years and 137 days. The Gegong Apang government comes after Basu.

The important thing is that Naveen Patnaik is continuously donning the mantle as Chief Minister of Odisha for such a long span without any break.

Comments are closed.