Mulayam Singh Yadav to contest from Mainpuri


Lucknow: The Samajwadi Party on Friday has released a list of six candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh slated for April-May.

According to party sources the party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav will contest the election from its stronghold Mainpuri.

Party sources said Dharmendra Yadav will contest from Badaun, Akshay Yadav from Firozabad, Kamlesh Katheria from Etawah, Bhailal Kol from Robertsganj and Shabbir Valmiki from Bahraich.

The party announced  that the list was signed by SP national chief general secretary Ram Gopal Yadav.

The Mainpuri seat is the ‘safest’ for Mulayam Yadav, who is MP from Azamgarh right now.

He had represented Mainpuri in the Lok Sabha in 1996, 2004 and 2009. In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Mulayam Yadav contested from Azamgarh and Mainpuri and won both the seats.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.