Medicated mosquito nets to be distributed in 9 Malaria-hit dists: Health Secy PK Meherda


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Health and Family Welfare Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Dr Pramod Kumar Meherda has directed the officials concerned to distribute medicated mosquito nets in the Malaria-hit districts of the state.

Chairing a steering committee meeting held at the Lok Seva Bhawan here today, the Health Secretary discussed on efficient distribution of 27.54 lakh medicated mosquito nets provided by the Central Government recently.

On 2017, the Central government had provided 13 lakh medicated mosquito nets which were distributed in Malaria-hit districts of Odisha. This resulted in curbing the mosquito-borne disease by 80 per cent and getting praised by the World Health Organisation. Though the medicated mosquito nets would last for three years, the state government had urged the Centre to provide more medicated nets following which 27.54 lakh nets have been provided initially and more would be provided in another phase.

Keeping in view the large demand, the state government has also started the tender process for buying medicated mosquito nets from the District Mineral Fund (DMF). Besides, in the meeting, it was also learned that the Centre would provide 1.13 crore medicated nets next year which will be replaced by the nets provided by the Centre in 2017.

As per reports, malaria-affected districts- Gajapati, Ganjam, Kalahandi, Keonjhar, Koraput, Malkangiri, Nabarangpur, Rayagada, and Sundargarh will be given priority during the distribution of the medicate mosquito nets. Besides, the districts (Nuapada, Mayurbhanj, Sonepur, Angul, Bargarh and Khurda) which have returned to its previous position in malaria control and the remaining 14 districts will get the medicated nets in the next phase.

The state Health Secretary had further directed the officials concerned to raise awareness on the use of medicated nets for the prevention of malaria by organising camps.

Managing Director of Odisha State Medical Corporation Yamini Sarangi, Special Secretary Dr Hasaprasad Pattanaik, health director Dr Dilip Kumar Sadangi, Public Health director Ajit Mohanty, Additional Secretary Susant Kumar Mahapatra and other officials of the health department were present in the meeting.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.