Manohar Parikkar wins trust vote in Goa Assembly


Panaji: Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parikkar today won the trust vote in the state Assembly with votes of 22 legislators whereas he needed 21 votes for a majority. The BJP leader had sworn in as Chief Minister on Tuesday.

Parrikar resigned as the country’s Defence Minister to take over as Goa Chief Minister, as per the condition set by the supporting parties for BJP. Within six months, he will have to win an assembly seat that a BJP MLA will vacate.

For Congress, with senior leader Viswajeet Rane absent from the House during the trust vote, 16 of the party’s 17 legislators voted. Despite being the single largest party of Goa with 17 seats, Congress could not gather support of just four more legislators for a majority.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.