Mahinda Rajapaksa sworn in as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka


Colombo: In a dramatic political development, Sri Lanka’s former President Mahinda Rajapaksa on Friday took oath as the new Prime Minister.

Rajapaksa was administered the oath by the current President, Maitripala Sirisena.

The development came after the United Peoples Freedom Alliance, led by Rajapaksa (UPFA), abruptly withdrew support from the ruling coalition government.

Later, President Maithripala Sirisena sacked Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and appointed former president Mahinda Rajapakse as the new premier.

Rajapaksa, a lawyer by profession, was first elected to the parliament of Sri Lanka in 1970. In 2004, he became the 18th Prime Minister of Sri Lanka.

Rajapaksa was elected for the first time in 2005 and for the second time in 2010. In 2015, they had to face losing to Maitripala Sirisena.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.