Maharashtra Govt Formation: Uddhav Thackeray to take oath as CM today, mega show at Shivaji Park


Mumbai: Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray will take oath as the next Chief Minister of Maharashtra today at Shivaji Park in Central Mumbai.

Uddhav Thackeray is set to take oath as the Chief Minister of the state on Thursday at Shivaji Park at 6:40 pm.

Thackeray will head the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance government.

The Shiv Sena has 56 MLAs, NCP 54 and Congress 44 in the 288-member Assembly in the state. Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari has given Uddhav Thackeray seven days’ time till the 3rd of December to prove his majority on the floor of the House.

Shiv Sena leader Aaditya Thackeray on Wednesday night separately met Congress president Sonia Gandhi and former prime minister Manmohan Singh in New Delhi and invited them for Uddhav Thackeray’s swearing-in as Maharashtra chief minister.

However, as per reports Sonia and Rahul Gandhi along with Singh are likely to miss the swearing-in ceremony.

The Shiv Sena leader, who will be sworn in as the 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra, late on Wednesday evening, called up Prime Minister Narendra Modi and invited him to his oath ceremony. Thackeray had earlier sent a letter to the PM as an invitation.

After Uddhav Thackeray’s swearing in, Maharashtra will have a chief minister from the Shiv Sena after 20 years.

The last Sena man to occupy the chief minister’s chair was Narayan Rane in 1999, after Manohar Joshi, who in 1995 became the first Sena chief minister.

On Wednesday morning, newly-elected MLAs were sworn in more than a month after the Maharashtra election, in which no party won a majority. The Supreme Court had ordered the Governor to arrange their oath immediately and appoint a pro-tem or interim Speaker to oversee the proceedings. Interim Speaker Kalidas Kolambkar is overseeing the oath ceremony.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.