Lockdown In Five Districts, 8 Major Towns In Odisha; Know Restrictions


Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government has issued a formal notification laying out the details pertaining to the lockdown in 5 districts and 8 major towns of the State from March 22 to March 29 in the wake of COVID-19.

According to the notification issued by the State Health and Family Welfare Department, more than 3000 people have returned to Odisha from foreign countries and registered themselves in the COVID-19 portal. A majority of these returnees are from six revenue districts, it was learned.

Accordingly, the State Government has imposed a lockdown in the territorial jurisdiction of revenue districts of Khurda, Cuttack, Ganjam, Kendrapada, Angul and the municipal jurisdiction of Puri, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda, Balasore, Jajpur, Jajpur Road and Bhadrak from 7 am on Sunday, 22nd March 2020 to 9 pm on 29th March 2020.

The State Health Department has also issued some restrictions which are mentioned below:-

  1. No public transport services including operation of taxis, auto-rickshaws will be permitted. The exception will include transport of all kinds to and from hospitals, airports, railway station, bus terminals/ bus stands.
  2. All shops, commercial establishments, offices and factories, workshops, godowns etc. shall close their operations.
  3. In these 5 districts and 8 towns, all distribution of benefits such as pension and PDS are postponed for the time being.
  4. All foreign returnees are directed to remain under strict home quarantine for a period as decided by local Health Authorities
  5. People are required to stay at home and come out only for basic services while strictly following social distancing guidelines issued earlier
  • However, the following establishments providing essential services shall be excluded from the above restrictions:

a) Offices charged with law and order and magisterial duties i. Collector

  1. Sub Collector
  2. Tahsil
  3. Block
  4.  Police
  5. Health
  6. Urban local bodies
  7. Fire
  8. Rail, Air and Inter-city Bus Transport (Local administration will regulate eateries in these premises)
  9. Electricity, Water and Municipal Services
  10.  Bank/ATM
  11. Print and Electronic Media, social media
  12.  Telecom & Internet Services including IT&ITeS
  13. Postal services
  14. Supply chain and related transportation
  15. E-Commerce (delivery) of all essential goods including food, pharmaceutical, and medical equipment
  16.  Food, Groceries, Milk, Bread, Fruit, Vegetable, Meat, Fish and their transportation-related activities and warehousing
  17. Take away/ home delivery restaurants
  18.  Hospitals, Chemist stores, and Optical stores Pharmaceuticals manufacturing and their transportation-related activities.
  19. Petrol pumps, LPG gas, Oil agencies, their godown, and their transportation-related activities.
  20.  Production and Manufacturing Units which require continuous process may continue to function, after obtaining the required permission from the Collector
  21.  Manufacturing units engaged in the production of essential commodities
  • Any congregation of more than 7 persons shall be prohibited in public places.
  • Private establishments that support the above services or are linked to the efforts for containment of COVID-19 will remain open.
  1. If there is any doubt as to whether a service establishment is essential or not, the Collector and District Magistrate/ Municipal Commissioner shall be the competent authority to decide.
  2. Police Commissioner, Collector, ADM, CDM&PHO, DCP, Sub-Collector, Tahasildar, B.D.O, Municipal Commissioner and Executive Officer of Urban Local Bodies are hereby authorized to take all necessary actions for enforcement and implementation of the aforesaid measures. Local police shall render necessary assistance as and when requisitioned by the aforementioned officers.
  3. Any person found violating the containment measures shall be deemed to have committed an offence punishable under section 188 of the Indian Penal Code (45 of 1860).
  4. The restrictions imposed earlier shall continue to be in force in the rest of the State.
  5. In case of any doubt, the State Government will issue necessary directions/ clarifications.

The Odisha Government, in the exercise of powers conferred under sections 2, 3 and 4 of the Epidemic Disease Act, 1897, has framed the Odisha COVID-19 Regulation, 2020 for prevention and containment of Coronavirus disease, 2019 (COVID-19).

It is imperative to adopt strict social distancing and isolation measures to contain the spread of COVID-19, which is playing havoc in many countries across the world, including India.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.