Kieron Pollard replaces Holder & Brathwaite as limited over Captain for India tour


Hyderabad: The Caribbeanhard-hitter, Kieron Pollard has taken the charge of the West Indies in the shorter format as he is replacing both Jason Holder and Carlos Brathwaite in the ODI and T20I respectively.

The tour India for 3-match T20I series and the same number of ODIs will be starting December 6 with the opening T20I in Hyderabad.

The ODI series against India will be Pollard’s first since 2016 as the 32-year-old was kept out of the squad due to differences with the previous board administration led by Dave Cameron. Resultantly, Pollard was also not included in the 2015 World Cup.

“It (captaincy) was something that was sprung upon me. I was playing international cricket for a long period of time. I missed out for 3 or 4 years. It is no secret what transpired in terms of my relationship with the board and whatever. Again, you know for me it is a simple thing. I can share experience in the dressing room. There are a lot of young guys in the dressing room. And they need the experienced guys also to guide them along so. You know, that’s basically my job. In terms of trying to guide them and set them in the right direction,” Pollard said in an interview with ESPNcricinfo.

“Somethings you don’t dream of. Like you dream of playing for the West Indies but you don’t dream of captaining West Indies. But something falls into your lap and again it’s a challenge and I don’t want to shy away from challenges,” he added.

India and West Indies will then meet in three ODIs in Chennai (December 15), Vizag (December 18) and Cuttack (December 22).

West Indies ODI Squad: Sunil Ambris, Shai Hope, Khary Pierre, Rostan Chase, Alzarri Joseph, Kieron Pollard (C), Sheldon Cottrell, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Hayden Walsh Jr.

West Indies T20 squad: Fabian Allen, Brandon King, Denesh Ramdin, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Sherfane Rutherford, Shimron Hetmyer, Khary Pierre, Lendl Simmons, Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard (C), Hayden Walsh Jr, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Kesrick Williams

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.