Karnataka crisis deepens as 21 Congress ministers resign


Bengaluru: The ongoing crisis deepened as 21 Congress ministers resigned ‘voluntarily’ over Karnataka political turmoil on Monday, according to reports.

Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah confirmed this while talking to reporters in Bengaluru. The deputy chief minister G Parameshwara has already offered to resign. Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has returned from US to tackle the situation.

As reported earlier, 11 MLAs, eight of the Congress and three of the JD(S),resigned over the weekend. Later, 10 MLAs left for Mumbai and are reportedly lodged in a hotel.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh said that BJP has nothing to do with the situation in Karnataka. Singh said :”We’re committed to maintaining the dignity of parliamentary democracy. The trend of submitting resignations was started by Rahul Gandhi in Congress, it wasn’t started by us. He himself asked people to submit resignations, even senior leaders are submitting their resignations.”

The BJP leader Shobha Karandlaje has demanded that Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy should resign as he has lost the majority.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.