Jharkhand Election: Voting Begins For Final Phase


Jharkhand: Voting for the fifth and final phase of polling for Jharkhand assembly election began on Friday. Altogether 237 candidates are contesting in 16 of the state’s 81 assembly seats.

Of the 16 seats, five area considered to be Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected.

The fifth and final phase is going to be crucial for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and opposition’s alliance, a group of three parties – JMM, Congress and RJD – as the 16 seats, fall in six districts of Santhal Pargana, which is considered stronghold of JMM.

Of the seven seats reserved for Scheduled Tribe (ST) in fifth round, six seats were with JMM in the last election and three seats won by Congress. The alliance is leaving no stone unturned to increase the number of seats from the region.

The seats going for the final leg voting are Rajmahal, Borio, Barhait, Litipara, Pakur, Maheshpur, Sikaripara, Nalla, Jamtara, Dumka, Jama, Jarmundi, Sarath, Poreyahat, Godda and Mahagama across six districts in the Santhal Pargana region of the state.

Elections have been held in 65 out of total 81 assembly constituencies in the last four phases between November 30 and December 16.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.