IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans beat Punjab Kings by six wickets in a last-ball thriller


Mumbai: Rahul Tewatia (13* off 3) smacked two back-to-back sixes off the last two balls to snatch the victory from Punjab Kings. Gujarat Titans needed 12 off the final two balls, and Tewatia took his team home in style. Odean Smith conceded 19 runs in the final over. Titans registered their third consecutive victory in as many games, and they jumped to second with 6 points in the IPL standings.

Shubman Gill smashed a brilliant 96 as Gujarat Titans (GT) beat Punjab Kings (PBKS) by 6 wickets in match 16 of IPL 2022 season at the Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai. Gill laid the foundation of the run-chase before Rahul Tewatia hit two sixes off the final two deliveries to keep GT’s unbeaten run alive. Earlier, Liam Livingstone top-scored with a fine 64 as PBKS managed to post a total of 189 for 9 against GT. Apart from Livingstone, Shikhar Dhawan (35), Jitesh Sharma (23) and Rahul Chahar (22) also played handy cameos. For GT, Rashid Khan took three wickets while debutant Darshan Nalkande also bagged two wickets each. Earlier, GT won the toss and elected to bowl against PBKS.

Punjab Kings XI: Mayank Agarwal (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Liam Livingstone, Shahrukh Khan, Jitesh Sharma, Odean Smith, Arshdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Vaibhav Arora

Gujarat Titans XI:Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade (wk), Sai Sudarshan, Abhinav Manohar, Hardik Pandya (capt), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Darshan Nalkande, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami.

Comments are closed.