IPL 2022: CSK Grouped With RCB, SRH, PBKS And GT

Chennai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Friday, February 25 announced that the  Indian Premier League 2022 season will run from March 26 to May 29.

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings will play twice each against Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and the Gujarat Titans. They will also play once each against Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and the Lucknow Super Giants.

“The 10 teams will play a total of 14 league matches (7 home matches and 7 away matches) totalling to 70 league matches, followed by the 4 playoff matches. Each team will play 5 teams twice and the remaining 4 teams only once (2 only home and 2 only away).

“To decide on the above, teams have been assigned in two virtual groups based on the number of IPL Championships won followed by the number of Final matches played by the respective teams.

“Each team will play twice with the teams in their group and with the team in the same row in the second group. With the rest of the teams in the second group they will play only once during the season,” the statement from BCCI read.

The league stage will be played in four stadiums across Mumbai and Pune. The venue for the playoffs and final will be announced later, the BCCI said.

All the teams will play four matches each at the Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium, three matches each at Brabourne Stadium and MCA International Stadium in Pune.

Comments are closed.

Breaking News