IndianOil bags coveted Sportstar ACES honour


Mumbai: IndianOil Corporation has been awarded the Best PSU/Corporation for the Promotion of Sports at the annual Sportstar ACES Award ceremony in Mumbai.

India opener Rohit Sharma was adjudged best Sportsman of the Year (Cricket) while Padma Bhushan and Dronacharya Awardee Pullela Gopichand was honoured as the Coach of the Year.

Ranjan Kumar Mohapatra, Director (Human Resources), received the honour on behalf of the Corporation.

Speaking on the occasion, Mohapatra said, “IndianOil takes pride in promoting sports in a big way. We recognise sports as a tool for holistic development. Budding sportspersons are recruited in their formative years, and many of them have gone on to win laurels for the country and Corporation.”

IndianOil has identified ten games as its thrust area: Cricket, Hockey, Badminton, Tennis, Table Tennis, Golf, Billiards/Snooker, Athletics, Chess & Carrom.

Over the years, IndianOil has recruited over 100 sportspersons including cricketers Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane; shuttlers P Gopichand, K Shrikant, P Kashyap; athlete Hima Das, paddlers Sharath Kamal, Manika Batra; hockey players Devesh Chauhan, Deepak Thakur, Prabhjot Singh; tennis players Rohan Bopanna, Divij Sharan, Sumit Nagal; and many more.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.