Indian Women’s Hockey Team Captain Rani Recommended For Khel Ratna Award


New Delhi: Hockey India on Tuesday nominated national women’s team captain Rani for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award while Vandana Kataria, Monika and Harmanpreet Singh were recommended for the Arjuna Award.

For the Major Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement, the federation has recommended former India stalwarts RP Singh and Tushar Khandker.

Coaches BJ Kariappa and Romesh Pathania have been nominated for the Dronacharya Award.

The period of consideration for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, India’s highest sporting honour, is between January 1st 2016 to December 31st 2019.

The Indian men’s team dragflick specialist, Harmanpreet Singh, is also in the short-list for the Arjuna nominees.

A panel formed by the Sports Ministry will shortlist the nominations received from various national federations with the awards to be presented on National Sports Day on August 29.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.