India Announces Playing XI For First Test Against Australia

New Delhi: Team India on Wednesday announced the playing XI for the first Test against Australia.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) tweeted out the playing XI that included Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal, who are likely to open the innings, R Ashwin as the lone specialist spinner, and the pace trio of Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah in addition to the usual suspects. Wriddhiman Saha was picked ahead of Rishabh Pant as the wicket-keeper.



India XI for 1st Test: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.

The first Test, starting Thursday at the Adelaide Oval, will be a day-night affair. Skipper Kohli will leave for home after the first Test on a paternity leave and Rahane will take charge as captain from the second game onwards.

The remaining three Tests will be played in Melbourne (December 26-30), Sydney (January 7-11) and Brisbane (January 15-19).