India Announce Squad For T20I Series vs Sri Lanka; Kohli, Pant Rested


Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced an 18-member India squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka at home.

Chairperson of the national selection committee, former Indian cricketer Sharma chaired a virtual press conference to announce the T20I squad of the Rohit Sharma-led Team India side.

Speaking at the press conference on Saturday, Sharma confirmed that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has rested Kohli and Pant for the upcoming T20I series between Sri Lanka and hosts India.

Sharma confirmed that Jasprit Bumrah will be Rohit’s deputy in the Sri Lanka series. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has also returned to the fold for the Sri Lanka white-ball series.

BCCI announced a revised schedule for India’s upcoming series against Sri Lanka. Instead of Tests, the series will start with T20 matches. The scheduling and venues have also undergone changes. The first T20 will be played in Lucknow, which was originally scheduled to host the third and final T20.

Dharamshala will host the second and third T20s while Mohali, earlier also slotted for T20, will host just one Test match. Bengaluru will be hosting the second and final Test match, a day-night affair.

India’s squad for the T20I series: Rohit (C), Ruturaj, Ishan (WK), Surya, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh, Deepak Chahar, Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal, Siraj, Samson (WK), Ravi Jadeja, Chahal, Bishnoi, Kuldeep, Avesh.

Comments are closed.