IND vs ZIM, 3rd T20I: Shubman Gill Stars As India Beat Zimbabwe By 23 Runs, Take 2-1 Lead

IND vs ZIM, 3rd T20I: India secured a 23-run victory over Zimbabwe in the third T20I of their five-match series at Harare Sports Club on Wednesday, July 10. This triumph gave the visitors a 2-1 series lead, bouncing back from an initial loss at the same venue.

Winning the toss and opting to bat, India introduced a new opening pair: Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shubman Gill. They provided a strong start until Sikandar Raza’s twin dismissals of Jaiswal for 36 off 27 balls and Abhishek Sharma for 10 off 9, brought Zimbabwe back into contention.

Nonetheless, Gill formed a formidable partnership with Ruturaj Gaikwad, contributing the highest stand of the match. The duo amassed 72 runs in 44 balls, with Gill scoring a team-high 66 off 49 balls and Gaikwad close behind with 49 off 28, falling in the final over as India set a target of 182/4.

In their chase, Zimbabwe struggled against India’s bowling attack, losing early wickets. Avesh Khan dismissed Wessly Madhevere with the first ball of his opening over, followed by quick exits for Tadiwanashe Marumani and Brian Bennett, claimed by Khaleel Ahmed and Khan, respectively. Washington Sundar then took out Sikandar Raza and Johnathan Campbell in a single over, crippling Zimbabwe’s batting lineup.

Despite a valiant effort from Dion Myers, who remained not out with 65 off 48 balls, and wicketkeeper Clive Madande’s 37 off 26, Zimbabwe ended their innings at 159/6 after 20 overs, falling short of the target. Sundar’s impressive bowling figures of 3/15 in 4 overs earned him the Player of the Match accolade.

Comments are closed.

Breaking News