IND vs SA 1st T20I: Rahul, Suryakumar Fifties Propel India To 8-Wicket Win, Lead Series 1-0


KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav scored half centuries to chase down 107 set by South Africa in the first ODI at Greenfield Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on a difficult pitch to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

After fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada, Wayne Parnell and Anrich Nortje all made the most of the fiery conditions to dismiss Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli early, Yadav & Rahul steadied the Indian innings.

The Indian pacers had done the same with better results, with Arshdeep Singh and Deepak Chahar sending the South Africa top order tumbling within the first four overs and restricting South Africa to 106/8. Keshav Maharaj was the lone warrior for South Africa as he scored 41 runs against a fire breathing India balling lineup.

Earlier, Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl first. The Indian bowlers got off to a rollicking start by gabbing 5 wickets for just 9 runs within the first three overs. They eventually restricted South Africa to 108 runs, with Keshav Maharaj being their top scorer.

For India, Arshdeep Singh picked up three wickets, and Deepak Chahar ended with two. In reply, the Men in Blue got off to a shaky start, but KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav held their nerve and guided India over the line with ease.

Comments are closed.