IIT Bhubaneswar wins NRDC National Budding Innovators Award


Bhubaneswar: Team Prajjawala students of Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) Bhubaneswar have won the prestigious NRDC National Budding Innovators Award – 2018.

The team led by Rahul Kumar (CSE, 3rd Year), Rahul Mahanot (ECE, 3rd Year), Rishwanth K (ME, 3rd Year) and Deepak K (ME, 3rd Year) bagged the award for their invention “Internet of Things and Data Analytics based Price Fragmentation, Pay-As-You-Use and Supply Chain Automation and Optimization in LPG Distribution System”.

This is the second consecutive time IIT Bhubaneswar has won this National Award under the guidance of its director Prof. RV Raja Kumar. The award is likely to be presented on May 11 on the occasion of National Technology Day at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi by NRDC.

“It’s a matter of great pride for all of us at IIT Bhubaneswar to have won the NRDC National Budding Innovators Award second time in a row. I would take this opportunity especially to congratulate these budding technocrats of tomorrow for this incredible feat, I am sure this is just the beginning and there is more to follow,” Prof. RV Raja Kumar said.

“Under this project, the students have developed IOT sensory attachment to gas cylinder which can intimate about the gas status in a cylinder online so that the gas filling can be made well organised. So this attachment can help ambitious government schemes like Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana to be very effective especially in rural areas,” he added.

Earlier, Nitheesh Kumar P (B.Tech, ME, Final Year) and Vikas Sharma (M. Tech, ME (MSD), and Alumni) had won the prestigious NRDC National Budding Innovators Award – 2017 for their invention “Development of FRP Repair Methodologies for rehabilitation of Corroded and Leaking Oil and Gas Pipelines”.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.